PRC History

PRC History

The period between the First and Second World War witnessed the development of various types of housing systems based on Pre-Reinforced Concrete (PRC). The most common PRC property types include Airey, Cornish, Unity, Wates, Smiths, Reema, Hawksley, Boot, Orlit, and Parkinson.

By the 1980s some fundamental problems affecting structural stability and durability began to emerge in PRC concrete system built houses. The problems of carbonation and the presence of detrimental chloride levels in reinforced concrete houses led to certain concrete housing systems being designated defective under the 1984 housing defects legislation which was then incorporated into the housing act of 1985.

A company named PRC Homes Ltd was set up in 1985 to approve licence repair schemes for houses designated defective under the 1985 housing act. These PRC licence repairs were designed to remove most if not all the concrete elements from the property making it then mortgageable.

On completion of the PRC rebuild/repair a PRC Completion Certificate would have been issued. Many of these PRC completion certificates over the years have been lost or misplaced and if your property was repaired by the local authority a PRC Completion Certificate may never have been issued.

PRC Homes Ltd a subsidiary of the NHBC ceased to exist in approximately 1998. The license repair schemes approved by PRC Homes Ltd are still the bench mark mortgage lenders use today. Mortgage lenders will not lend on repaired PRC houses without the PRC certificate been in place.

If you are missing your PRC certificate, do not worry we can arrange for the certificate to be issued Retrospectively. Please click here for more information.